Friday, November 9, 2018

Monday, October 29, 2018

Two Places at Once


Due to circumstances way beyond my control, here is my weekend schedule:


Craft, Food and Wine Show (AKA the "Cheel Show")
Friday, November 2, from Noon to 8:00 & Saturday November 3 from 10:00 - 4:00

The SLC ARTS Studio Tour.
 Saturday November 3 from 10:00 - 5:00 & Sunday November 4 10:00 - 5:00

I'll be manning the booth at the show on Friday, and leaving it in capable hands
 while I'm back at the studio on Saturday & Sunday for the Tour.

Prints at the show, originals only at the studio on Saturday
...everything back at the studio on Sunday.


Share:

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Lunch

I usually fish on my birthday, but instead I spent some
 quality time today playing in the water with my other favorite angler.
Just a few more touch ups, sign it...and pull the tape.
From an old photo I took in the 90's from my kayak at Trout Lake.
Four color palette.


Share:

Doin' What I Do

There was a time I looked forward to having my birthday off and not having to go to work.
 Now "work" is doing what I love to do. I'm blessed, doin' what I do.

Share:

Saturday, September 8, 2018

Autumn Angling

While the stealth painting is still ongoing,
 the other easel is full with a new one. Just started, with laying in
background color and basics. Following the seasons with some autumn colors.


Share:

Friday, August 31, 2018

Stealth Painting

Water looks a little like camouflage in this new I one just started...and probably a good thing.
Full tilt commission, so all you're going to see are detail shots!

Share:

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Up to the Lake

This is the view from the bay, looking towards my Aunt's camp at Trout Lake.
It's one of the few original "camps" on the lake
 that has managed to basically remain unchanged 
and not been knocked down or converted into a huge summer home.
 Updated with all the modern conveniences, it still harkens back to a time on the lake when
life was simpler, quieter, and relaxing. The way I prefer to remember it. 
Still a long way to go on this one, but it's coming along.

Share:

Sunday, August 19, 2018

From The Bay

The "dog (and cat) days" of my summer are pretty much over, 
so there's a new one just underway on the easel...and finally one I can share!
Aside from the familiar subject matter (to some family members),
 this one is about the light.


Share:

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Hey Mickey

For the past few years, my wife and I have returned to Stowe Vt. for our Anniversary. We stay at a classic New England inn, The Gables Inn. Mickey is the inns welcoming committee. I took his picture last year, with the intent to paint him, but it got lost in the shuffle. Our trip to Vt. is coming up so it reminded me, and I dug it up...I've been having a bit of "painters block" lately, so I thank you Mickey!

"Mickey"
8x10 Acrylic on canvas
Share:

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

For the Birds

Finished up this plein air today in the studio, from a couple weekends ago...
"Birdhouse with Wagon Wheel and Lilacs"
8x10  Acrylic on Canvas
Plein Air
Share:

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Tuesday, May 15, 2018

Thursday, May 10, 2018

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Leaving


Foreground is cut in and a a little detail started. There's a whole lot of leaves on that ground...

Share:

Monday, April 30, 2018

Monday, April 16, 2018

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Monday, April 9, 2018

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Monday, March 19, 2018

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Monday, March 12, 2018

Field Work

I took the photo I'm using as reference for this canvas a long time ago...
it's been rattling around in my head almost as long. 
Just starting, it's all about the soft light right now.

I hope this is the last Winter scene for awhile...I'm ready for Spring.
Share:

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Doctor, Doctor...

Blue Doctor salmon fly, small watercolor commission.
Not sure how this is going to go.
 Time to condition the tiny brushes and coffee up to get a steady hand!!


Share:

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Keene Valley Barn

Just a few little details left on this one. It's been a challenge.
 Lots of practice knife strokes, then a deep breath and cut in the paint. 


Share:

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

The Most Photographed Barn in the Adirondacks

If you're familiar with the Adirondacks, then at some point you've most likely
either admired in passing, stopped or photographed the "Keene Valley Barn"
 at the junction of Rt 73 and 9N. 
 An unofficial landmark for years, it was deemed structurally
unsound and was unceremoniously,
and without notice, demolished by the state in late December of 2016.

 This new one is from a photo I took in the fall of 2011. I've blocked in the color with a knife but haven't decided if I'll finish it off with that or a brush.
It's in its ugly stage. 

Share:

Monday, January 8, 2018

Saturday, January 6, 2018

Friday, January 5, 2018

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Re-racked

I started this one about a year ago and at one point I said it was done,
basically, because I was frustrated and hated it.
 I got it out late summer thinking I'd reuse the canvas but decided to look at it for a while more. My hatred was renewed but decided rather than scrap it, I'd try to resurrect it.
So I looked at it some more, decided what I wanted to do and looked at a LOT of whitetail pictures.
This week, for lack of anything better to do, I took to it. I changed the perspective which helped a lot, took some great advice from a Facebook friend regarding the overall monochromatic thing that I was trying to use (but wasn't working), and basically reworked the whole shebang.
There's still stuff to do, it's by far much better, but I'm still not sure I can forgive it enough.
I guess I'll look at it some more...
   YUCK                                                         Not quite so yuck
Share: