Friday, October 30, 2015

Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Porketry in Motion

Artwork by Art

Ode to a Pig

A love song, by Erin Kilmer
With special guest artist, Uncle Arty

Oh pig, the odor from thy farm
Doth lack in any type of charm.
But we forgive thy stench, oh beast,
When thou art served as heav’nly feast.

Thy hams make Christmas full of cheer,
And when thy sausages come near
Our mouths would fill with songs, ’tis true,
Were they not filled with bits of you.

Thy chops! Thy chops! With applesauce
Attest, oh pig, thou art the boss,
And were thy roasts no longer here
‘Twould be a darker, sadder, year.

And now, oh pig, the grand climax:
That luscious cause of heart attacks!
That greasy joy, that salty meat!
That tasty, wondrous, fatty treat!

Thy bacon, Pig! That glorious fare
That brings us hope in the despair
Brought us by skinless chicken breast
And salad greens with lemon zest—

Thy bacon, Pig! ‘Tis gluten free!
No nuts encroach, nor yet dairy!
‘Tis good with eggs, with toasted bread,
Oh Pig, for worthy cause thou’rt dead!

I love thee, Pig! I take this vow
To ever love as I love now;
For though you’ll nevermore awaken,
Your sacrifice hath brought me bacon.

Erin Kilmer is my niece. Genius obviously runs in the family.
Her blog can be found at Together for Good


Sunday, October 25, 2015

Saturday, October 24, 2015

Friday, October 23, 2015

Monday, October 19, 2015

Friday, October 16, 2015

Thursday, October 15, 2015

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Sunday, October 4, 2015

Birthday Brown

I always try to fish on my birthday, and I usually fare quite well.
 I'd like to say it's skill, but in reality, I think it's more the time of year.


Friday, October 2, 2015

Raquette River Dolphins

  Each summer, the Raquette River Dolphins return for their annual spawn. The 1200 mile journey from the coast of Nova Scotia to the waters of the Raquette River doesn't prove too arduous for these amazing creatures, as they can frequently be seen tail walking in the deeper channels.
  Hundreds migrate to the last 5 mile section of the river before the Brookfield Dam in Raymondville  NY, and remain there until they move to the rocky shallows to spawn around the first week in October. After spawning they immediately return back to the Atlantic.
 Their fry mature quickly, and soon before the surface of the river freezes over for the winter, they follow the same path back down the Raquette, into the St Lawrence to the Atlantic Ocean.

A rare picture of a post spawn Raquette River Dolphin, before returning to the Atlantic: